Chucktown

Chucktown, AKA C-town, AKA Charleston, WV….our state capitol! 

My destination today was in South Chucktown at Marshall University Graduate Center or MUGC as we call it (pronounced MUG CEE). I am going for a meeting of the West Virginia Autism Training Center Advisory Board.  We meet four times a year so four times a year I get in my car and drive 80 miles and sit through a four hour meeting then get in my car and drive 80 miles back home.  Sometimes travel is not so glamorous!  But my car knows the trip well.  Today I just stuck in an audiobook (F is for Fugitive by Sue Grafton) and let the Monte Carlo lead the way! No speeding tickets, please!

MUGC

One of the board members is a young man with Asperger’s.  He introduced himself by saying “I am an Aspie”.  He said he might start taking some college classes.  The WVATC has a wonderful college program at Marshall University in Huntington, WV for students with Asperger’s Syndrome.  These students are able to reach their dreams of getting a college degree because they have a strong support system behind them.

Best part of the trip?  Making it up the driveway and parking in my garage!

Do you know someone on the Autism Spectrum?

2 thoughts on “Chucktown

  1. You made it to the garage? YEAH! That was the hardest part of your current travels (those who haven’t seen your driveway don’t understand:) Love the inclusion of Spec Ed topics…. expanding

Leave a comment