Tattoos and Traveling (Part I)

Okay, I have to admit I am kind of a dweeb.  Everyday I depend more and more on Lindsey and others to keep me “hip” in this world.  So, I was really excited when I saw that the “Black Eyed Peas” were performing at halftime in the Superbowl.  I had heard of them!  I even recognized a couple of their songs!  But then WHAM!  Someone named “Slash” comes falling from the sky.  Everyone seems to know him but me. 

Okay, I now know he was the former lead guitarist with Guns N’ Roses.  I’d heard of Guns N’ Roses but NOT Slash!  Who knows the names of all the band members, for goodness sakes!

Okay, I am not feeling too bad yet…..then suddenly out pops someone named “Usher”!

Who the heck is this guy?  So I google him………

“To date, Usher has certified sales of over 45 million albums worldwide.[6] He has won numerous awards including five Grammy Awards,[7] four World Music Awards, six American Music Awards, and nineteen Billboard Music Awards.[8] In 2008, Usher was ranked as the 21st most successful Hot 100 Singles Artist of all-time by Billboard magazine.[9] The RIAA ranks Usher as one of the best-selling artists in American music history, having sold over 23 million copies in the United States alone.[10] Billboard Magazine ranked Usher the number one Hot 100 artist of the 2000s decade.[11] They also named him the second most successful artist of the 2000s decade,[12] and his 2004 album Confessions was ranked as the top solo album and second most successful overall album of the last decade.[13] Usher has attained nine hot 100 number-one hits (all as a lead artist) and has attained sixteen hot 100 top-ten hits.[14][15] Aside from his musical career, he is regarded as a sex symbol. In 1998 People Magazine named him the sexiest R&B artist alive.[16] In 2010, Glamour Magazine named him one of the 50 sexiest men alive. (thanks wikipedia)

Shouldn’t I know this guy?  Am I living in a vacuum?

Okay, I am getting way off the original topic of this blog, but there is a connection.  A few years ago while visiting my parents in Florida, I was suddenly overtaken with the idea to get a tattoo.  I told my parents my thoughts and surprisingly my mom was pretty cool about it (dad was speechless).  The thought lingered in my mind long after my return home until one day I just said “I’m gonna do this!” and I did.

Left shoulder tat

It is a hibiscus and it reminds me of Florida……the ocean breeze, the warmth of the sun…..something to get me through our winter months.

I was pretty content with that tattoo until I learned about the Ireland trip.  Hmmmm…..shouldn’t I have a tattoo to memorilize that once in a lifetime journey?  Thus…..

The Celtic Cross

I love it!  And I can see it (unlike the one on my back). Plus it covered a scar where I was run into by a bicycle while walking at the park 🙂

I think I will leave it at that for tonight.  It has been a long day for “The Girl Who Woke Up Sick and is Still Recuperating” and a really long day is on the horizon for tomorrow.  But I will leave you with one thought……a dweeb is still a dweeb even if she has tattoos, but that is okay with her!
Stay tuned for Part II.
What do you think about tattoos?

2 thoughts on “Tattoos and Traveling (Part I)

  1. You may think you live in the land of Dweebs,
    But at least you had heard of the Black Eyed Peas.
    Everyone else was so excited to know,
    they had witnessed the “best ever halftime show”.
    When I asked who that girl was rocking her pelvis,
    They looked at me like I had never heard of Elvis!

Leave a comment