And Then There Were Four

The countdown to my vacation is now at four.

And believe me, after waking up to snow this morning, it can’t come too soon.

The only bad thing about going on vacation is getting ready.  Oh, I love putting together my  little trip folders full of hotel reservation information and google map directions and “things to see” and restaurant menus……What I love less are the mundane chores that have to be done before one can leave town for a week.

It helps if you make a list

Yes, I am a list maker.  Always have been and always will be. 

The first item on my list is clean house.  I always have to clean my house before I go on vacation.  I think it relates to what our moms used to tell us about always leaving the house with clean underwear on.

I guess that is to keep the ER doctors and nurses from rolling their eyes in disgust as they try to save your life following the 12 car pile-up on the interstate.  Well, God forbid something would happen to me on my trip and people would come to my house and say “Can you believe the dust on her coffee tables?”  Thanks, Mom!

The second item on my list is pay bills.  Thanks to online bill paying, I can set up all of my end of month bills before I leave but not have them pay out until the 15th when I get paid.  This is the greatest invention since electric wine openers!

The third item on my list is go grocery shopping.  Not only do I have pick up some things to take with me like deodorant, razors, lotion, but I need to buy food to pack in the car.  I take traveling seriously and that means I want to get from Point A to Point B as quickly as is humanly possible and that means NECESSARY STOPS ONLY!

And most of the time you can get both done in one stop.

I don’t like to stop and eat.  I don’t like to stop and stretch my legs.  I don’t even like to stop at stop lights, but I even I have limits.  It is not a trip as much as it is a mission.

So, the countdown continues…..

BTW…did anyone notice the item on the list that was crossed off?  Apparently I figured that one out 🙂

2 thoughts on “And Then There Were Four

  1. Loved this blog but remember…..blood clots from driving too long and bladder infections from not peeing. Thanks for cleaning the house before you leave. A dirty house would be a reflection on your mom.

  2. HAHA – there should be a “Listmakers” convention 🙂 Again – loved this post…and am excited for you to get away from snowy WV for the sunny skies of FL!!

Leave a comment