Throw Like a Girl

Yesterday I went to my grandson’s baseball game.  It was the last game of the regular season.  The team they were playing was pretty good thanks in part to their first and third basewomen.  Yes, they had two girls on the team and they were infielders!

I commented on how talented the little girls were and my son said, “Yeah, they don’t even throw like a girl'”  THROW LIKE A GIRL?  I’ve heard that expression before, mainly aimed at boys who are a bit challenged in the athletic department.  My question is WHY we say it?  I mean if a woman fixes a nice meal do we say to her “Wow, you don’t cook like a man?”

I think gender stereotypes are disappearing, but not fast enough for me. 

BTW…..those girls hit the cover off the ball!

One thought on “Throw Like a Girl

Leave a comment