Glad to Have My Dad

Tomorrow is Father’s Day and Monday is not only WV Day, but my father’s birthday as well.  Good reasons to remember how lucky I am to have such a wonderful father.

Oh, I didn’t always consider myself to be lucky.  You see, my father was a policeman and that sometimes made for difficult moments growing up.  For example, isn’t it every teenager’s dream to have a police car pick you up at school?

But I remember some cool stuff about being the daughter of a police officer.  When I was little, dad would take me to the firing range and when everyone was done shooting, I got to walk around the grounds with an empty coffee can and pick up all the spent shells.  I bet not very many girls had a collection like that.

Gold Remington Spent Shotgun Shells 40 pcs lot 12 gauge GA empty shot gun bullet hulls empties

When I was done, we would go to A&W Drive-in and have a hotdog.  They would bring our lunch out to the car and hang the tray from the driver’s window.  How cool is that?

And what girl can forget her father walking her down the aisle on her wedding day.  Well my dad did that too…….TWICE! (I spared him the trip on wedding three) 

Hopefully we were all daddy’s little girl. He was and hopefully still is wrapped around our little finger. Not to take advantage of…more just for the comfort of knowing he is there.

~Violette DeSantis

Happy Father’s Day!

One thought on “Glad to Have My Dad

  1. Deena…your mother is mad, she said that mine was nicer then hers. I thought that it was very good and I love you very much…..DAD

Leave a comment