Blast from the Past

Well, a few days ago I attended the 45th Anniversary Monkee’s Reunion Concert in Columbus, Ohio.  It was quite a night to remember!

 

It started out a little weird as Micki shouted “Good Evening, Detroit!”  But that was okay.  I forget where I am sometimes too.  I just know it is a Hilton Hotel somewhere.

I kinda figured the majority of the crowd would be older and I wasn’t wrong.  I was just happy that no women threw their lingerie up on the stage.  That could have been ugly.

There WERE some Monkee groupies there.  I mean seriously, they dressed up just like the band and were in front row seats.  A bit scary.

Even the Monkees made fun of their age.  They said that people recognized their tour bus everywhere as it was the one driving 45 miles per hour in the left lane.

The band performed in front of a giant HD screen that showed cuts from their past TV shows and appearances and they did all of their top hits (‘Daydream Believer’,  ‘I’m A Believer’, ‘Last Train To Clarksville,’ ‘Pleasant Valley Sunday’ and ‘(I’m Not Your) Steppin’ Stone,’ as well as some more obscure ones.  All in all, it was two hours of nonstop music and memories.

The old guys still have it and that’s good to know!

Leave a comment